Code Monkey Works with some Java

Hello Everyone!

Been busy the last couple days with some boring stuff like lawn care (I was trying to grow a jungle, but my wife didn’t like that plan). I only managed to get one lesson in. It was Lesson 14 and was all about using the getText() and setText() methods. There really isn’t a whole lot to talk about here. We set up a few more ids on our radio groups from lesson 13 and then we started setting up the methods to make them work. We set up textOut to output text, or at least we started to. I don’t think we finished anything yet. We set up textIn to get the text we will output. We also set up our radio groups so we can get them to do stuff later on.

Our TutorialOne.java code after lesson 14

My First App

I started working on the layout of my sound effects app. I’ve decided I will do as much of it as I can on my Nexus 7 using AIDE.  AIDE is a Java IDE that can build and compile apps right on your android device. I highly suggest checking it out if you make apps at all. I see myself mostly using it just to tweak or make small changes later on, but I thought I’d see if I can build a basic app with it. As I said I’ve only just started building my layout. If I can get my wireless keyboard running it’ll be much faster sailing. Stupid batteries! So far I have got one layout file started with 4 buttons across the top that I used a Horizontal Linear Layout and weight to appear as tabs at the top of the screen. I plan to add 3 columns of 4 or 5 buttons each. I tried to add a Text View under the tab buttons, but I couldn’t get it to appear properly. I am pretty sure I need to give it it’s own Linear Layout to get it to work. I’ll try to do that tonight.

Sorry this post is so short. Hopefully

One thought on “Code Monkey Works with some Java

  1. Pingback: Dur, Spelling is Hard | wannabe code monkey

Leave a comment