Wannabe Code Monkey Heads Back to Coursera

Hello all. It’s been far too long since I wrote here or even tried to continue my coding journey. Back in June I had my work schedule switched around on me. It’s actually given me more free time. Time I planned to use to learn to code. But for the last 4 months I’ve been doing . . . well, not much. A little bit of work on the house and in the yard, but really, not much at all. It’s time to get back to work! I’ve enrolled in a Coursera Course. It’s called Programming and the Web for Beginners. In all honesty I’m less interested in this course than I’d like to be, but it’s the first course in a specialization on Java programming that I’m very¬†interested in. However, I’m not enrolling in the specialization itself, but rather hope to just jump into the individual courses as they come up. To enroll in a specialization on coursera costs $350. At this time I don’t have the funds to invest in this little project of mine, so therefore I’ll stick to the free parts.

duke

The course doesn’t actually start until October 12, next Monday if you’re reading this as it’s posted. It looks like it’ll cover some basics on the internet (I should know most of this already), some basic HTML (I taught some HTML for my computer teacher when I was in High School… She actually pulled me out of other classes to come teach her students so this should be simple), CSS (never touched it, but always wondered about it!), Javascript (this will be new) and a 7 Step Design Process that should be useful for all types of programming (!). I’ve started to preview week one of the course and they included a quiz with sample questions taken from throughout the course. I got 8/13 correct. The ones from the first week I knew the answers to and some others I got lucky with my guesses, although they were educated guesses based on what I know of code.

This is a 4 week code, with an estimated 3-5 hours of study required per week. This shouldn’t be too tough for me as I know have 4 days off a week (although in that time I do have some other responsibilities such as looking after and spending quality time with my 2 year old daughter and doing work around the house). I’d like to encourage anyone reading this that’s interested in coding to join me! It’d be fun to get a group that’s doing this together so we can discuss it as we go. If you think about it, the course can be done in as little as 1 hour a day after work (if you work a traditional 5 day work week). Or take an hour after the kids go to bed, whatever it might be. LET’S DO THIS!

Leave a Reply

