Dur, Spelling is Hard

Hey guys, Another weekend of lots of gaming and near enough sleep, but I got back at coding Sunday afternoon. Started out with lesson 15 over at MyBringBack. In this lesson we finished up the current activity we’ve working on. We made the Radio Groups for Gravity and Typeface work. We fleshed out the onCheckedChanged method we created as a stub last week. I’m not really sure how to walk through this, but I’ll post a picture of my code.

Code that makes our Radio Buttons work

Let me take a stab at this… Let’s look at the first case (rbLeft). In case our Left Radio Button is checked, set the Gravity to Gravity.LEFT. That will make the text align to the left side of the screen. Well, that wasn’t too bad. But it get’s more interesting when we get to the Typeface ones, so let’s look at rbNormal and see if we can make sense of it. In case our Normal Radio Button is checked set Typeface to Normal. That is what it does, but does all this mean? “Typeface.defaultFromStyle(Typeface.NORMAL), Typeface.NORMAL” Why do we need all that instead of just something like Typeface.NORMAL? I’m not sure. Hopefully it all becomes clear at some point in the future. In the mean time let’s take a look at our activity in action.

Our text with Typeface set to Normal and Gravity to Center

Typeface set to Bold and Gravity set to Right

Lesson 16 had us working on the menu. You might have noticed that this blog post is really late. Well that is because the lesson burned me out a bit. It all seemed simple enough. And in reality it was. But my inability to spell hurt me. Worse than that my inability to notice my spelling mistake for the two hours + I spent staring at my code to try to solve my issue. I ended up sending my who project to a friend who knows more about coding than me and he found my error (Thanks Glen!!!). By that time I was pretty discouraged and spent the week gaming instead of coding. Ready to get back at it now.

Leave a Reply

