Eclipse, SDK, ADT, API and a Head Ache for this Monkey

The Chronicles of a Wannabe Code Monkey continue and hopefully will start to get more interesting soon! I spent the last two nights (when I wasn’t cooking/eating/working out/doing other stuff) removing all the things needed to develop android applications from my PC. That means I removed the Android SDK, Android ADT and Eclipse IDE. When I first installed them I had been a little too excited about this whole thing and hadn’t paid close enough attention (apparently) and could not get them working. I could get everything working on their own. Eclipse worked and I could code basic Java apps in it. The Android SDK was installed and I could set up an emulator environment and so on, but I just couldn’t get the ADT plugin to work with Eclipse. The first error code I got made me think I needed a different version of Eclipse, so after hours of scouring the web I found one I thought would work. Well, ok it took my 94.3 seconds to find it with my ninja google skills. After installing this version of Eclipse I got a whole host of new error messages. Deciding that something wasn’t right and in my haste to get everything going I missed a step or added a step something I decided that the best course of action would be to just start over.
Where I'm at right now

Maybe installing these (again) will help…

I still think the issue may have come from compatibility issues between Eclipse and the current Android SDK/ADT Plugin. With that in mind I found a site that had a bundle zip file available for download that included everything I need. The package can be found here. After finally getting the download finished (it only took approximately forever) I went about installing the various components. Finally I was ready to open up Eclipse and get to work. File > New > Android Project (WOW! It worked!!) Start filling out the required fields… More problems. There is not options available in the SDK field. In it won’t accept any application names I choose. No matter what I do it just will not work for me. I’m starting to get frustrated with this, but I’m not going to let it stop me. I’m determined to become an Android Developer.
Have you ever tried something numerous ways and ran into problems at every turn? What helped you get past your hurdles? Share in the comments!
7 thoughts on “Eclipse, SDK, ADT, API and a Head Ache for this Monkey

  1. Yes Eclipse is sometimes really frustrating. Somtimes installation just works out of the box, sometimes you’ll never get it done. And if you have finally installed it you get suffered on a daily base by the horrible slow and crippled performance!

    After ongoing troubles (I need a reliable development environment to maintain my apps) I just ditched Eclipse and tried out IntelliJ IDEA. I’m only using it on Ubuntu 12.04 so I can’t tell anything about the Windows version. But the good thing is that the Android tools are already built in. So just install it and GO GO GO! The speed is really impressive and it’s really a joy to develop using IDEA. I don’t look back at Eclipse at all!

    When coming from the Eclipse environment then IDEA’s module approach is… well… different… but for me it makes just perfect sense! For the record you can import previous Eclipse or Maven projects easily and you have built in git support as well. So for instance if you want to build a project which you have seen on Github then you can just import it directly from IDEA, update the module settings and voilà!

    • That’s really good to know. I hadn’t heard anything about IDEA before. I will check it out for sure! But I think for the time being I will stick to Eclipse for the simple reason that most if not all the tutorials I have come across have used Eclipse. Once I’m past the tutorials and ready to start developing for real, I’ll check out IDEA.

      Also, would you mind filling me in on what GIT is? I see it pop up all over the place, but I don’t really know what it is.

      • GIT is a version control system developed by Linux Torvalds, who also developed Linux. GIT is among the most popular and useful version control systems, and Github (based on Git) is among the most popular community websites used to share open source projects.

        On Linux you usually use command line tools (see http://www.vogella.com/articles/Git/article.html for instance for a nice tutorial) while on Windows you probably rather use TortureGit. This is just like the popular TortureSVN but uses Git instead of SVN.

  2. If you have Eclipse installed into “c:\Program Files”, make sure you are running it as administrator when you install the ADT plug-in (and any updates) – the same goes for SDK Manager.

    (It’s easier just to install everything to your User directory if you are using Windows 7 or Vista).

    I’m not sure if that’s the cause of your issues, but that’s the only thing I’ve ever had problems with when installing the Android development stuff on Windows.

    • I have Eclipse installed in C:/Android. It seems to be working fine now. I guess I was using incompatible copies of Eclipse and Android SDK. Finding a download that included both was a big help as then I knew the versions would work together.

  3. Just to make this future safe you can move the eclipse installation to a known dir of ur choice like eg. C:\Data
    and also move the Android SDK(from C:\Program files(x86)\Android) to the same dir. Now the only change you would need is to update the SDK location in eclipse by going to Window >> Preferences >> Android >> SDK Location text box, update it to the new location for the Android SDK and u have a self sufficient Android Development Environment with you. You can zip the whole folder on C:\Data\Eclipse\eclipse-SDK-x.x-win32 and keep it somewhere safe (so that if something goes wrong with the dev environment u can unzip this fiel and get going in no time )or u can just move it to a different PC and get up and running in no time.

  4. The other question about Git it is a versioning application which maintains a history of changes you made in your project and you could revert back to a older version, also it is used in a team environment to share the source code of and application to facilitate parallel development in different modules of the same application.

Leave a Reply

